News

Microsoft Apologizes for Skype Outage

Microsoft issued an apology this week for its consumer Skype outage that occurred on September 21.

All told, the Skype outage lasted more than 12 hours, perhaps tapering down after about 15.5 hours. However, some people still had problems today per comments at the Downdetector.com tracking site.

Microsoft clocked the end of its Skype outage at 23:53 GMT or 3:53 p.m. Pacific Time (6:53 p.m. Eastern Time). The problem started in the early morning on September 21 at around 1:23 a.m. Pacific Time (4:23 a.m. Eastern Time) when many people reported log-in problems.

The Skype outage occurred because of a "back-end" configuration change made by Microsoft. The company's apology described it as a "larger-than-usual configuration change, which some versions of Skype were unable to process correctly therefore disconnecting users from the network."

Users trying to reconnect after the configuration change caused "heavy traffic" and they were unable to use Skype's free "messaging, presence and contact" services. In addition, some users couldn't log into Skype.

While Microsoft apologized for the outage, its consumer Skype service comes with no service-level agreement guarantees. Consumer Skype users have to accept "occasional disruptions," even if they are paying for the services. Consumer Skype services include voice-over-IP telephony, video and instant messaging capabilities, some of which are available for free.

About the Author

Kurt Mackie is senior news producer for 1105 Media's Converge360 group.

Featured

  • Windows 10 Preview Adds Ability To Display Linux Distro Files

    Microsoft on Wednesday announced Windows 10 preview build 19603, which adds easier access to installed Linux distro files using Windows File Explorer.

  • Microsoft 365 Business To Get Azure Active Directory Premium P1 Perks

    Subscribers to Microsoft 365 Business (which is being renamed this month to "Microsoft 365 Business Premium") will be getting Azure Active Directory Premium P1 licensing at no additional cost.

  • How To Use .CSV Files with PowerShell, Part 1

    When it comes to bulk administration, few things are handier than .CSV files. In this two-part series, Brien demos his top techniques for working with .CSV files in PowerShell. First up: How to create a .CSV file.

  • SameSite Cookie Changes Rolled Back Until Summer

    The Chromium Project announced on Friday that it's delaying enforcement of SameSite cookie changes, and is temporarily rolling back those changes, because of the COVID-19 turmoil.

comments powered by Disqus

Office 365 Watch

Sign up for our newsletter.

Terms and Privacy Policy consent

I agree to this site's Privacy Policy.