MCSA Gets New Exam

As reported in last month’s issue, Microsoft has announced a new certification that fits snugly between the MCP and MCSE credentials.

According to the latest word from Microsoft, the new Microsoft Certified Systems Administrator, or MCSA, will consist of four exams: two existing ones, a new test, and an elective that can be fulfilled with non-Microsoft exams. The two existing exams are 70-210, Windows 2000 Professional, and 70-215, Win2K Server. The third is 70-218, Managing a Win2K Network Environment. The fourth is an elective culled from administrator-related exams on Microsoft’s standard list or a combination of two tests from the Computing Technology Industry Association (CompTIA); either A+ and Network+, or A+ and Server+.

“For a lot of people, MCSA is the job they do every day of their lives,” said Robert Stewart, Microsoft’s general manager for training and certification, in explaining the rationale behind the new certification. The new credential was expected to be available early in 2002.

Stewart added that the new certification was something the IT community asked for. “Talking to customers about the MCSA credential, it was obvious that there’s a broad base of customers out there interested” in something focused on a narrower set of duties than the MCSE.

About the Author

Keith Ward is the editor in chief of Virtualization & Cloud Review. Follow him on Twitter @VirtReviewKeith.


  • Windows 10 Mobile To Fall Out of Support in December

    Microsoft will end support for the Windows 10 Mobile operating system on Dec. 10, 2019, according to an announcement.

  • Get More Out of Your Outlook Inbox with TakeNote

    Brien comes across a handy, but imperfect, feature in Outlook that lets you annotate specific e-mails. Its provenance is something of a mystery, though.

  • Microsoft Resumes Rerelease of Windows 10 Version 1809

    Microsoft on Wednesday once more resumed its general rollout of the Windows 10 version 1809 upgrade, also known as the "October 2018 Update."

  • Microsoft Ups Its Windows 10 App Compatibility Assurances

    Microsoft gave assurances this week that organizations adopting Windows 10 likely won't face application compatibility issues.

comments powered by Disqus
Most   Popular

Office 365 Watch

Sign up for our newsletter.

Terms and Privacy Policy consent

I agree to this site's Privacy Policy.